GMAG 2023 - May 19th and 20th
Get The Info
Minnesota Pilots Association Logo
January 17, 2014

Living Legends of Aviation Awards 2014


John Travolta to Host the 11th Annual

Living Legends of Aviation® Award

Beverly Hills, Calif., January 9, 2014 – The 11th Annual “Living Legends of Aviation”® Awards, presented by Bell Helicopter and Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, announce more honorees today.  The awards will be held January 17, 2014, at the Beverly Hilton.

With more Legends and Celebrities confirmed to attend than ever, this most prestigious and important recognition event of aviation, the “Living Legends of Aviation,” is honoring Mr. Frederick W. Smith, founder and CEO of FedEx with the Legends “Lifetime Aviation Entrepreneur Award.”  Mr. Bruce Whitman, Chairman and CEO of FlightSafety International, will receive the “Lifetime Aviation Industry Leader Award.”

Bob Hoover has selected Major General Patrick Brady, a Medal of Honor recipient, to receive the “Freedom of Flight Award.”  In addition, Bob will pay tribute to his good friend, Col. Bud Day, posthumously, with his wife, Doris, and son, George Jr., receiving a special Legends medallion.

Morgan Freeman narrates the  “Flown West” segment of the program with a tribute to Paul Poberezny, founder of the Experimental Aircraft Association (EAA).  There will also be a special 10-year salute to the Udvar-Hazy Center, the companion facility to the Smithsonian Air & Space museum on the National Mall in Washington, D.C.

Kiddie Hawk Air Academy, the non-profit organization that produces the Living Legends of Aviation Awards, will induct seven Legends, including T. Allan McArtor, Chairman of Airbus Americas; David Hurley, who has a 60 year aviation legacy and is Chairman Emeritus of the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum;  John Uczekaj, CEO of Aspen Avionics; David Neeleman, founder of Jet Blue and Azul Airlines;  Roy Morgan, founder of Air Methods and actor/pilot Treat Williams.   In addition to induction, Jack Erickson, an avid aviation helicopter and fixed-wing pilot, will be honored as Bell Helicopter’s “Vertical Flight Hall of Fame Award” honoree.  Erickson used the Sikorsky S64 and redefined aerial heavy lift in logging, firefighting, transmission tower erection and many limited access construction projects worldwide.

Harrison Ford is presenting his “Aviation Legacy Award” to Marilyn Richwine and Rhonda Fullerton, two key assistants who coordinate the Citation Special Olympics Airlift with amazing results.  The 11th Annual Awards promises to be a memorable and historic event.


Minnesota Pilots Association Logo
Website Managed by Evolve Creative
chevron-down linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram